Former arts teacher now living in the world of technology.

Reflection

As I reflect back on this project, there are two main things that come to mind.  First, that I am really proud of all the students and their hard work but secondly, I think the project was too big.  I think that the next time I work on a project like this that I will scale down the size and content.  While the finished product is wonderful, the process got a little too stressful at times, not only for the kids–but for me!  🙂

I would like to have had more time to work with the students on their writing skills.  Some of them were able to go back and revise their work quickly and accurately based on my corrections and suggestions, others just didn’t have that skill and I would have really liked to have helped them more–maybe even partnered with a Language Arts class, not just for the editing of the finished product, but for partner work on revising drafts of the different sections.

I certainly had grandiose ideas and maybe if our class time was more than the 36 minutes a day that we have we would have been able to fit everything in.  I just don’t know.  I had also planned to add games to test knowledge of what our visitors read on the webpages which never even started due to time (and exhaustion) and another part of the project that only one of the students was able to get to was to create facebook pages for the composers.  I think both of these are projects that can be done in another class and we can take our time and really work on the creation process as well as the final product.

I couldn’t be happier with the work the students have done.  They have accomplished something that not all students will have the opportunity to do as well as something that will be on display for years to come.  There are still a few things that need to be polished but for now, we are all just stepping back and enjoying the view.  I hope to continue to do similar projects in the future.

Comments on: "Reflection" (2)

  1. Louise Peters said:

    You are terrific! Don’t give up! I’m 58 years old and ready to retire in 2 years! I was a music major (bassoon and voice) in college many years ago, but I’ve spent my 32 years in education in elementary ( 3rd,4th grs) and reading (middle school). I teach at risk kids, and have never lost my love for music ed. We need more people like you!

  2. Thanks Louise! That means a lot!

Leave a comment